Click to go to Main Page


SHO : Inspector Ombir Singh

Lajpat Nagar Police Station covers the four    sectors of Lajpat Nagar, Amar Colony, Sant Nagar, Daya Nand Colony, Nehru Nagar, Garhi and Vikram Vihar and is a fairly congested area in South Delhi.


While  the Delhi Administration has boasted in their submission before the Justice Misra Commission that there was not even a single casualty in the area of Lajpat Nagar, the Ahuja Committee subsequently set up identified 14 dead bodies in Lajpat Nagar during the riots.


Incidents of arson and looting in Lajpat Nagar started in the night of 31st October, 1984 and continued  right up to 4th November, 1984 unchecked by the police.  The police made no arrests either in registered cases of under preventive sections of law and throughout  the  period of riots no tear gas  shells were used nor did  the police resort to firing.  In spite of numerous instances, only 5 FIRs were registered none of which indicate the deaths which occurred in that area.